Posted by: Bonnie Koenig | November 15, 2011

Outside of our Comfort Zones

“Do One Thing Every Day That Scares You” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

“I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.”  ~Pablo Picasso

It almost feels a bit clichéd to write “the world is becoming more global”,  but virtually and in person we are interacting on a daily basis with more cultures and perspectives.  We can do this reactively, or we can prepare ourselves more proactively and be open to opportunities that can help affect positive social change.  Some of us have the benefit of having had experiences that stretch us, or a personality that likes challenges.  Others of us are more risk adverse or like our comfort zones, even when we don’t admit it.  But we can all use some helpful prompts and reminders to reach outside of our comfort zones.  Here are a few ideas:

  • Blog to learn: If you’re a blogger, write a blog about something you want to learn about – the blog will give you an excuse for some research, outreach and learning. (I included some information on the ‘complexity’ field in a recent blog, partly to learn more about it myself).
  • Learn a few phrases from another language – If you don’t already speak other languages, think about learning at least a few phrases from a culture that interests you.  You don’t have to become fluent (a significant project) but learn enough to begin to appreciate the unique aspects of some of the phrasing, or what it can mean to struggle to express yourself.
  • Read some fiction based in other countries. Here are two lists with good suggestions:  Top 10 African memoirs  and an assortment of favorites gathered by Penelope Carter and friends (many set in places around the world).
  • Follow in new directions: If you’re on Twitter, spend some time identifying people who look interesting to you but in a different field or area whose path you might never come across  without your outreach.  There are other social media platforms as well, but Twitter (where you can follow anyone without mutual acceptance) is a good way to approach people you do not yet know.

The options are really unlimited, the key is to consciously think about how to challenge yourself.  What’s on your list?


Responses

  1. Set up meetings with people you think might not want to meet you. You will be surprised!

    • That’s a great idea – how often do we say to ourselves ‘no, they won’t meet with us’ and talk ourselves out of it before we even try? Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. I like these simple things listed above & in comments that you can do to go outside of your comfort zone to discover new cultures and interest!
    I also go to concerts / museums / streets / places where I have never been before, or on styles that are not my favorite ones, just to see what could be interesting there…
    Another perspective is to always try to find counter-arguments for your own believes whether they are religious or political etc. That is time consuming but very rewarding spiritually and intellectually.

  3. Learn a new sport, dance or martial art or language (and stick around over an extended period of time till you have mastered it).

    Nothing has taken me further outside of my comfort zone than joining a capoeira group when I was in my mid 30s. Everyone looks totally uncoordinated and clumsy when they start capoeira (or a new dance, a new sport or a new language), When you are no longer a pre-teen, the fear of “looking stupid” is even worse.

    Even after playing for several years, capoeira is still hard, but it has forced me to get past mental blocks and performance anxiety about ‘playing’ and making big glaring whole body mistakes in public.Because of the difficulty, there is also huge satisfaction when you finally ‘get’ something and when you can see yourself progress and starting to find flow and fluidity. I think it’s important to take on things that are challenging rather than always gravitating towards those things you can easily master.

  4. Félix and Linda – You both are two of my inspirations for stretching outside of your comfort zones in many ways, so thanks for commenting so we all can learn from your experiences.

  5. For me, getting outside my comfort zone means finding the thing that matters so much that my comfort zone dissolves. I am naturally reserved, a little shy, and a total introvert. So going to huge gatherings, meeting people, and especially speaking in front of people is SO not my thing. But, I care about the work I am doing, and because of that work I am called on to be an advocate and communicator and network builder…well somehow my comfort zone expands to accommodate all that I need to do. As long as I focus on the purpose outside of myself the barriers at the edge of the comfort zone just fall away. – Katherine

    • Katherine – With all that you have accomplished, I never would have suspected that you are naturally shy! Focusing on our passions is such a great way to help dissolve the barriers that comfort zones can present. Thanks for underscoring the importance of doing that.

  6. Great advices, both in the post as well as in the comments! I also part of the shy club, although every time I have to begin a class (as lecturer) or a workshop (as its coordinator) I have to push a bit my self counting in my head “uno, dos, tres!!” and go! To begin my blog I counted near to 3.5 billon, but I did it at the end…

  7. Ships in port are safe, but that’s not what ships are built for!

  8. This is an interesting topic, and the comments are equally fascinating. For me, there are many ways to get out of the comfort zone. Firstly, whenever possible, going to a new place where I don’t speak the language fluently and trying to get ordinary (but difficult in that environment) things done. The feeling of accomplishment, and also the feeling that people in far-flung places are not as different as yourself, is really pleasurable. Secondly, running/cycling/walking/whatever as far as is humanly possible. I think the thing I enjoy about this the most is that I’m not a natural long distancer and never have been. But the repetitive movement is both incredibly relaxing and cathartic, and it is amazing from time to time to see what your body is capable of doing. Finally, talk to absolutely everyone about everything, and read absolutely everything about everything, even if that’s not your style. You never know what you can learn to challenge your preconceptions.

  9. Thanks for all of these excellent ideas! @Pablo – it is to our great benefit that you have reached out of the ‘shy club”! @Jed – wonderful quote! @WehYeoh You are also a master of stretching out of comfort zones – thanks for sharing your ideas.

  10. i pay attention to the sensations inside my body when i do different activities. when the sensation i’m feeling is fear, it is always because i’m doing something i’ve never done before. and this sensation and respective action is something that i’ve grown fully addicted to. so the bottom line: become a fear junkie. do that which makes you the most absolutely frightened, and make sure that you are doing it daily, like a diligent addict 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories